The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Sunny-Side-Up is a weekend column celebrating clear blue skies, fancy bookmarks and the snooze button. In other words, expect book/film reviews, DIY crafts and easy recipes for a lovely weekend.

When we got out of the tunnel, Sam screamed this really fun scream, and there it was. Downtown. Lights on building and everything that makes you wonder. Sam sat down and started laughing. Patrick started laughing. I started laughing. And in that moment, I swear we were infinite.

I thought it was just another teenage novel, until I watched the film – it was beautifully shot – that made me want to read the book and rethink my growing up years.

“You see things. You keep quiet about them. And you understand.”

I walk around the school hallways and look at the people. I look at the teachers and wonder why they’re here. Not in a mean way. In a curious way. It’s like looking at all the students and wondering who’s had their heard broken that day… Or wondering who did the heart breaking. And wondering why.

Charlie is such a simple and pure character. Even in his uncontrollable anger and frustration, he is an extremely relatable protagonist, whom you just can’t help but empathise with.

I don’t know if it’s better to have your kids be happy and not go to college. I don’t know if it’s better to be close with your daughter or make sure that she has a better life than you do.

Then, I turned around and walked to my room and closed my door and put my head under my pillow and let the quiet put things where they are supposed to be.

“Charlie, we accept the love we think we deserve.”

The ending was left open and optimistic. Just like how our lives are, and just like what Charlie said, we all have the power to choose where to go from here. So I believe that somewhere out there, in a parallel novelistic universe, Charlie has recovered, Sam is loved, and Patrick is free.

So, I guess we are who we are for a lot of reasons. And maybe we’ll never know most of them. But even if we don’t have the power to choose where we come from, we can still choose where we go from there. We can still do things. And we can try to feel okay about them.

Leave a Reply

