Kukup: Part 1

Thursday Travels is a weekly column featuring sights and sounds from my wanderlust adventures. Come, fly with me, and we’ll explore strange cultures, exotic eats and everything in-between.

Moons ago, on rare days when I felt I could live with black nails and a Fujifilm x10, we went on a road trip to Kukup — what I’d call the alternative seaside resort. Along the way, we stopped for breakfast at Restoran Lai Kee, and munched on delicious goreng pisangs.

Business was brisk, so while waiting for our noodles, we snacked on fried fishcakes. While I enjoyed the texture of handmade fishcakes and meatballs, they were a tad too salty for my liking.

For a moment, we were fascinated with these old, dusty switches which, according to my Malaysian friends, are a common sight in their country.

Just a few steps away was a stall selling piping hot goreng pisangs. And they were so good. We loved the 3-in-1 chinese cake, durian and cempedak. Yummy!

Restoran Lai Kee (來記西刀魚丸)
58-90 Jalan Pahlawan 2, Taman Ungku Tun Aminah, 81300 Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Open daily till 3pm

Look out for the goreng pisang stall nearby!

Leave a Reply

