Room.

Jack is five. He lives with his Ma in a tiny, locked room measuring 11 feet by 11 feet. Until one day, his Ma finally admits there’s a world outside of Room.

Before I didn’t even know to be mad that we can’t open Door, my head was too small to have Outside in it. When I was a little kid I thought like a little kid, but now I’m five I know everything.

This is a very original, and immensely heart-wrenching story about a brave little boy. Narrated from his pure and unadulterated perspective, Room is painfully simple but gripping.

The undoubtable climax came as Ma and Jack plans an escape plan, of which they simply cannot afford to fail. For that chapter, I was glued, and rendered immobile until assured that Jack is safe.

“It’s just an automatic flush. Look, the toilet sees with this little eye when we’re all done and it flushes by itself, isn’t that clever?”

I don’t like a clever toilet looking at our butts.

Thereafter, however, was a slow spiral downwards, probably because nothing else that followed could match up with that intensity shown earlier. Nonetheless, the characterization and plot development were well planned and executed throughout.

This is a good read that will leave you deeply affected for a lingering period. If you’ve liked The Lovely Bones, you’d love this too.

When I was four I thought everything in TV was just TV, then I was five and Ma unlied about lots of it being pictures of real and Outside being totally real. Now I’m in Outside but it turns out lots of it isn’t real at all.

Leave a Reply

